Flipped Classes

Ok, everyone knows that the teacher teaches and lectures in the class and kids get homework assigned to do at home..  That’s how school goes.  At least that’s how I went through school and how I’ve figured that my students will go through school.  How  absolutely unimaginative of me.  Well you know, this isn’t the first time I have realized that I’m not where I want to be when I eventually teach on my own.  That’s alright, it means I’m learning.

So what else is to be done.  Flipped classrooms of course! Or something.  I saw a couple tweets about it the other week and forgot about it until now when I have a couple minutes.  So basically, lectures or pre-information (recorded lecture of yourself or other video introducing or explaining content) are assigned for students to view at home or before class, wherever they want.  Most kids have a computer in their pocket, so they really don’t have an excuse, although many still won’t do it.  Much like not doing homework.

And then, when the class comes together, hopefully a large portion of students will have watched the lecture portion already, and you can focus the time on allowing students to work with the content you shared.  Activities that will reinforce the lectures and bring the information to life.  I like this idea.  Doing activities to reinforce the lectures vs doing homework to reinforce the lectures.

Many of you reading this, may have experienced this in school.  And maybe I did too, in a different way, but I don’t think so.  I think it’s a strategy that can be employed along with the traditional format, being balanced as to hit all the different types of learners, etc.  I really like this idea.  For one, kids spend more time doing in school, and for another, I spent more time doing and less time talking as well!

Have you heard of this? Have you experienced this?  What do you think?

1 comment
  1. I really like the idea. It makes a lot of sense in my mind. Why would kids come to class to hear a guy talk, when one can get that through you tube. The best use of a teachers time I conclude, is to spend time with the kids, helping them, answering their ridiculous questions, and just being a teacher. I’d love to start practicing something like this when I get into the classroom next semester.

Leave a Reply

